English class – May 20th

We had another productive class yesterday – I am really happily surprised by the diligence of the guys who are studying – already more or less half a year has passed with classes running with the same amount of enthusiasm – keep it up!

Here is a run down of some of the language we learned : –

Grammar.

  1. “I’m only guessing, but___ “. Meaning: when we are not sure our advice is good = e.g. “I am only guessing, but I think you should take the Oedo line if you want to go to Ryogoku”.
  2. “Hand over”. Meaning: to give; to pass to someone. “I handed over the postcard to the clerk”.

Vocabulary.

  1. Scoot to move your butt whilst sitting. “Scoot back to make space”.
  2. Avoid to turn away from, ignore, don’t think about. “I am trying to avoid my boss”, “I am avoiding junk food”. “To improve other techniques I am avoiding using the triangle choke”.
  3. Alert to be very focused, clear. “You must be alert when driving.
  4. Mundane boring, not interesting. “Ibaraki is a mundane place….maybe”.
  5. Muggy to be hot and wet, moist. “Nagoya summers are more muggier than Tokyo ones.
  6. Funeral a service to remember someone who has died. “The funeral for my grandfather will be held tomorrow”.
  7. Bed-riddenwhen you can’t get out of bed. “After surgery on my knee I was bed ridden for two days”.
  8. Surgery to have an operation in hospital. “After breaking my arm I had surgery”.
  9. Maintenance to have a machine cared for. “With the points from my credit card I can get free maintenance from Toyota”.
  10. Mode type, option, style. “In Japan, the best mode of travel seems to be by train”.
  11. Worth value, how much is needed. “Sun san’s great performances at jiu jitsu are worth a purple belt”.

A vocabulary rich lesson! Please take some time to try and review the new language and use it in future lessons!

Dan

Leave a Reply

