English class – last week’s notes!

Sorry for the delay with the notes, excuses excuses! Without further ado, here they are: –

Grammar

“I can hang with people my own weight in sparring” – to be able to compete with, do similar as

“In the semi final my opponent ran over me” – to be convincingly beaten.

“Only if you push me, I guess Hans will win this fight” – a weak opinion, not sure, low possibility.

Without a doubt, if you live here for a long time you should learn Japanese!” – a strong opinion

“On the breadline” – to not have much money, low income

Vocabulary

“Acclimatise” – to get used to a situation over time: “I’ve not yet acclimatised to Japanese summers”.

Leave a Reply

