A message from Hayakawa sensei

To all Tri-force members

I’ve been overwhelmed by grief and surprise by the immense disaster which inflicted catastrophic damage. May I extend my condolences to the many people who lost their lives, families, friends and homes.

I pay respect to all the people who are involved in the rescue effort,  assisting  the sufferers, and fighting with the nuclear plant at their own peril, such as the Japanese Self-Defense Force, the police, fire-fighters, and TEPCO. I wish all operations success and they come back safely.

Regarding Tri-force, thanks to all of the staff especially all branch managers, who dealt with this circumstance without me. I really appreciate them.
As the president of this company, I really apologize for closing the academy and not being able to answer your requests. I would appreciate if you understand it was a difficult decision with safety being in my mind.

In addition to this, I apologize for this late notice.  A day before coming back to Japan, I finally decided what to write and  announce you on the Triforce blog.
Now I stay at my relatives in Hawaii and keep watching the news on TV and surf the internet so that I can get information as much as possible. I never had an idea this extensive disaster happened while I’m on my  once-yearly vacation.

I think of Japan and victims every second of everyday. I can’t help watching the news without tears. The way that the foreign media reports the events is worse than how the Japanese’s does.

My younger female cousin  makes an intense effort to support victims as a doctor in Tohoku (disaster area). My older brother had a baby one day before the earthquake. So they can’t evacuate from Tokyo because they need to protect the baby.

The devastating effect it has not only on the person who lives in Tohoku, but also on Tri-force members. Ito-san, Miyamoto-san, the firefighters, they are ready to go to Tohoku at any moment.

To tell the truth, I am really safe in Hawaii now and the idea of “staying in Hawaii and keep living safety” went through my mind once. I thought this is a good opportunity from God  to keep watching the things happening in Japan safely once.

However, I’m sure courage is the most important thing to keep our dignity. And this is a test from God of our courage, I guess. How do you live in this this world – what do you choose? I would like to live with holding my head up.

I would feel empty inside if I choose to leave my family, friends, and people in disaster area to live in island safely. Even now I feel a lump in my throat with a patriotic motive. How can I live rest of my life with such a feeling? You can’t say “I’m living” in that way. That’s not very far short of saying that you don’t have a heart.

If people trying to protect us, such as the Self-Defense Forces, the police, firefighters, and TEPCO protect their lives by their own selfish rules, all victims lives would have been lost for nothing.

Therefore, we have to live stronger to return their efforts.

I will go back to Tokyo tomorrow.

My aunt and cousin are trying to persuade me not to go back, but I will say goodbye to them with a smile because I believe I can see them again soon.

After I get back to Tokyo,  I suppose that even if I go up to the north, I won’t go down to the south to evacuate until the government announce us officially.

I’ve set my mind.

I will manage to get over this crisis and try hard to be assist of reconstruction as a Japanese national.

Tri-force BJJ academy
Mitsuyoshi Hayakawa

Leave a Reply

