Rules are rules… #BJJ #Triforce #Tokyo #JiuJitsu

I think due to the number of members Triforce has, it has been decided that receiving stripes will be dependant mostly on the number of times you have trained. At Ikebukuro we have an electronic sign in system where we just need to swipe a card before going in and getting changed – this data is accumulated over the weeks and months, and allows the management to know exactly who is training where and when. Case in point, I trained precisely 99 times last year at Ikebukuro (pretty hasppy with that number considering everything that happened last year) … So with that, I was happy to receive another stripe on my belt from Hayakawa sensei yesterday. I believe this rule does not apply to getting a belt promotion, so I’ll need to keep training hard if I’m to be lucky enough to get my purple.

Receiving my 4th stripe from Hayakawa sensei

I’ve been off for the last two days so was able to get some decent training in, both last night and this morning. I was surprised that I could move more or less OK considering the beating I took yesterday – hope this will serve me in good stead as I make my way to the first competition of the year which will be held on the last Saturday of the month – Ganbaru!

The chaps after a monster sparring session this morning

 

2 Responses to Rules are rules… #BJJ #Triforce #Tokyo #JiuJitsu

  1. Jack says:

    Congrats on your new stripe. I broke my wrist last December whilst snowboarding in China. Slowly recovering. Join you on the mat soon.

Leave a Reply

