Triforce English blog update: 4/13/13 #BJJ

With the competition tomorrow I thought I’d take it easy today and attend the beginner class headed up by Hayakawa sensei. This class begins at noon on Saturdays – I thought it would be pretty busy, but it turned out that only 5 people attended, due in part to the popularity of Kim san’s no-gi class which runs from 13:30. I might end up giving no-gi a go sometime in the future – but for now I’m all about the gi!

Hayakawa sesei demonstrating some spider guard sweeps

Hayakawa sesei demonstrating some spider guard sweeps

I think I’m going to attend a few beginner classes per month from now on. Form and execution are paramount and I was picked up a few times on this when going through the spider guard sweep drill. We studied three variations, and after having the finer points explained to me (after seven years how many times must this be now?!), it seems I’ve been powering through these with more with my hips from the bottom, rather than fully stretching my leg out to the max,  in turn more easily executing the sweep – hopefully I won’t make these  mistakes again!

Leave a Reply

